News
2 patients confirmed dead after receiving Ceftazidime injection at National hospital Abuja
National Hospital, Abuja, has confirmed the deaths of two adult patients following serious adverse effects suspected to be linked to the administration of Fortcef Injection, a brand of Ceftazidime.
The hospital disclosed this in an internal memo dated September 10, 2026, signed by its Director of Clinical Services and Chairman of the Medical Advisory Committee, Dr O. Lawal.
The development has prompted the hospital to heighten surveillance of Ceftazidime products sourced from outside the hospital, particularly Fortcef Injection 1g.
Two patients die after suspected adverse reactions
According to the memo, the cases were identified by the hospital’s Pharmacovigilance Committee following serious adverse events involving two adult patients.
The affected patients were described by the hospital as “otherwise relatively stable” before they were administered the drug.
The hospital did not disclose the medical conditions of the patients, the doses administered or the specific nature of the adverse events that occurred before their deaths.
However, the management directed all clinical units and departments to increase surveillance of Ceftazidime sourced from outside the hospital, with specific attention to Fortcef Injection 1g.
The affected product was identified as batch number PEZIE001, manufactured in May 2025 and due to expire in April 2028.
The product bears NAFDAC registration number C4-0247.
Hospital alerts clinicians and reports cases to NAFDAC
Following the incidents, National Hospital reported the cases to the National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control for further attention.
The hospital also directed clinicians to promptly report any suspected adverse drug reaction to its Pharmacovigilance Committee.
The heightened surveillance is part of the hospital’s pharmacovigilance response to the reported incidents.
Pharmacovigilance involves the monitoring and assessment of suspected adverse effects associated with medicines after they are used by patients.
However, the hospital’s memo did not state that the Ceftazidime injection had been conclusively established as the direct cause of the deaths.
Further investigation is therefore required to determine the precise circumstances surrounding the adverse events and whether the drug was directly responsible for the patients’ deaths.
Viral voice note alleged four deaths
The hospital’s confirmation came amid the circulation of a viral voice note purportedly recorded by a nurse at the facility.
In the recording, concerns were raised about deaths allegedly occurring after patients were administered Fortcef.
The viral claim reportedly alleged that four patients had died following administration of the drug.
However, the internal memo from National Hospital did not confirm the allegation of four deaths.
Instead, the document specifically recorded serious adverse events involving two adult patients and confirmed their deaths.
The hospital’s official communication therefore provides a different account from the figure contained in the viral recording.
The development has heightened attention around the safety of the affected product, while the hospital’s decision to report the cases to NAFDAC is expected to facilitate further regulatory assessment.
Investigation into suspected drug reactions continues
National Hospital has not announced a general ban on Ceftazidime or stated that all products containing the drug have been withdrawn from use.
The memo instead instructed healthcare workers to heighten surveillance, particularly when using Ceftazidime sourced from outside the hospital.
Clinicians were also reminded to report suspected adverse drug reactions to the Pharmacovigilance Committee to enable the hospital to monitor any additional cases.
The affected Fortcef batch, PEZIE001, remains the specific product identified in the hospital’s surveillance alert.
The cases have now been brought to the attention of NAFDAC, which is responsible for regulating medicines and investigating suspected safety concerns involving regulated pharmaceutical products in Nigeria.
Further findings from the hospital’s pharmacovigilance process and the regulatory assessment will be required to establish the circumstances surrounding the two deaths and determine whether the identified Ceftazidime product played a direct role in the incidents.
-
News1 day agoAFC supports ₦729 billion series 2 bonds to advance Nigeria’s power sector reforms
-
Breaking3 days agoConstitution doesn’t recognise ‘working’ vacation – ADC challenges National Assembly over Tinubu’s absence
-
Business3 days agoCardoso says monetary policy reset to improve transmission, not ease stance
-
Breaking2 days agoAFCON 2027Q: Keep crying – Nwabali fires back at critics after Super Eagles return







